

## Pepsi North America Cup Fact Sheet

July 2, 1984 at Greenwood Raceway First Raced:

For: Three-Year-Old Pacers

When: Saturday, June 17, 2023 at Woodbine Mohawk Park (Final)

Post Time: 10:40 p.m. EDT

Television: TSN 3 10:00 - 11:00 pm EDT

Purse: \$1,000,000

Purse Distribution: 1st: \$500,000 2nd: \$225,000 3rd: \$108,000 4th: \$72,000 5th: \$45,000 6<sup>th</sup>-10<sup>th</sup>: \$10,000

Nomination Fee: \$500

Sustaining Fees: \$1,000 + \$1,000

Starting Fee: \$8,000

2022 Winner: Pebble Beach – 1:50.

STAKES RECORD

Greenwood: Presidential Ball - 1993 1:51 Woodbine: 1:48.4 Red River Hanover – 2002 Captain Crunch - 2019 Mohawk Park: 1:47.2

TRACK CONDITIONS

**Fast** 39 Good 0 Sloppy 0

PAST WINNERS (MOST WINS)

Owner: Jeffrey Snyder (4) Cams Card Shark -1994

Red River Hanover - 2002 Rocknroll Hanover - 2005

Well Said - 2009

Lothlorien Equestrian (3) Red River Hanover - 2002

Rocknroll Hanover - 2005

Well Said - 2009

William Robinson (4) Trainer: Precious Bunny - 1991

> Presidential Ball - 1993 Cams Card Shark - 1994 Red River Hanover - 2002

Precious Bunny - 1991 John Campbell (6) Driver:

> Cams Card Shark - 1994 Davids Pass - 1995 Arizona Jack - 1996 Gothic Dream - 1997 The Panderosa - 1999

**Driver Appearances:** John Campbell - 25

David Miller – 21 Steve Condren – 15

**PAYOFFS** 

**Highest Winner:** \$93.60 Goalie Jeff - 1989 Lowest Winner: \$2.70 Jate Lobell - 1987

> Presidential Ball - 1993 Twilight Bonfire - 2013

**Highest Place:** \$44 Moneyman Hill - 2020 **Highest Show:** \$20.70 **Highest Exacta:** \$374.50

Straight Path - Workplace - 1998 Gothic Dream - Village Jasper - 1997 Lowest Exacta: \$8.10

**Highest Trifecta:** \$7,356.30 Straight Path-Workplace-Run To The Bank - 1998 Fear The Dragon-Huntsville-Downbytheseaside - 2017 Lowest Trifecta: \$19.90



No. of Favourites to Win: 17/39 (43.5%)

Last Favourite to Win: Pebble Beach – 2022

Largest Margin of Victory: 4 1/2 lengths Bettors Delight - 2001

Smallest Margin of Victory: nose Quite A Sensation - 1986

Jate Lobell - 1987 Arizona Jack - 1996

Wire-to-Wire Victories: 4 Staff Director - 1985

Jate Lobell - 1987 Precious Bunny - 1991 Rocknroll Hanover - 2005

Fastest 1/4: :25.1 Warrawee Needy – 2012

:25.1 Lyonssomewhere – 2014
 :25.1 Wiggle It Jiggleit - 2015
 :25.2 Buckeye Hanover - 1999
 :25.2 Peruvian Hanover – 2001

Fastest 1/2: :52.1 Downbytheseaside - 2017

:52.4 Warrawee Needy – 2012 :52.4 Workin Ona Mystery - 2019

Fastest 3/4: 1:19.3 Downbytheseaside – 2017

1:20 Workin Ona Mystery – 2019

1:20.2 Fool Me Once - 2013

Top Winning Sires: Cam Fella (4) Goalie Jeff - 1989

Precious Bunny - 1991 Presidential Ball - 1993 Cams Card Shark – 1994

Western Hanover (4) The Panderosa - 1999

Red River Hanover - 2002 Mantacular – 2004 Well Said – 2009

Jate Lobell (3) Safely Kept - 1992

Davids Pass - 1995 Gothic Dream - 1997

Worst Finish by Favourite: 9<sup>th</sup> Beach Towel (4-5) - 1990

Highest Closing Odds: 239-1 King Gypsy - 1990 (finished 7<sup>th</sup>)

Lowest Purse: \$357,900 1984 Highest Purse: \$1,629,500 2004 Finals won by Elim Winners: 22 of 39 56.4%

Most Wins Entering Final: 21 Jate Lobell - 1987 (finished 1st)
Fewest Wins Entering Final: 1 Cams Catch - 1995 (finished 5th)
Artriverderci - 2007 (finish 4th)

Richest Starters: \$1,431,692 Die Laughing - 1991 (finished 3<sup>rd</sup>)

\$1,234,104 Presidential Ball - 1993 (finished 1st)
\$1,221,208 Mach Three - 2002 (finished 2nd)
\$1,205,542 Jeremes Jet - 2006 (finished 6th)
\$1,093,411 Bettors Delight - 2001 (finished 1st)

\$1,077,580 Big Jim – 2011 (finished 3<sup>rd</sup>)

\$1,073,660 Allamerican Native - 2003 (finished 2<sup>nd</sup>, Dead-heat)

**Lowest Money-Winning Starters:** 

\$20,350 Stagecraft Hanover - 1996 (finished 9<sup>th</sup>)
\$27,809 Tidewater - 2005 (finished 6<sup>th</sup>)
\$29,445 Mannart Swift - 1984 (finished 8<sup>th</sup>)
\$30,242 Gold Dust Beach - 2005 (finished 7<sup>th</sup>)
\$31,416 D T Slipper - 1987 (finished 6<sup>th</sup>)

Race History: 1984-93 At Greenwood Raceway

1994-2006 At Woodbine Racetrack

2007 - At Woodbine Mohawk Park (formerly Mohawk Racetrack)

Pepsi sponsorship: Since 2001



## Past winners of Pepsi North America Cup

Year	Horse	Driver	Trainer	Time
1984.	Legal Notice	Dr. John Hayes	Dr. John Hayes	1:55.3
1985.	Staff Director	Dave Wall	Dave Wall	1:55.2
1986.	Quite A Sensation	Trevor Ritchie	R. Claire Porter	1:54.3
1987.	Jate Lobell	Mark O'Mara	Mark O'Mara	1:52.3
1988.	Runnymede Lobell	Yves Filion	Yves Filion	1:54.4
1989.	Goalie Jeff	Steve Condren	Tom Artandi	1:53.2
1990:	Apaches Fame	William Fritz	William Fritz	1:53.4
1991:	Precious Bunny	John Campbell	William Robinson	1:53
1992.	Safely Kept	Mike Lachance	Joe Holloway	1:53.1
1993.	Presidential Ball	Ron Waples	William Robinson	1:51
1994.	Cams Card Shark	John Campbell	William Robinson	1:51.4
1995.	Davids Pass	John Campbell	Brett Pelling	1:52.1
1996.	Arizona Jack	John Campbell	Gary Machiz	1:55.1
1997.	Gothic Dream	John Campbell	Jack Darling	1:50.4
1998.	Straight Path	Mike Lachance	Shawn Robinson	1:51.2
1999.	The Panderosa	John Campbell	Brett Pelling	1:49.4
2000.	Gallo Blue Chip	Daniel Dube	Mark Ford	1:50.1
	Bettors Delight	Mike Lachance	Scott McEneny	1:50
2002.	Red River Hanover	Luc Ouellette	William Robinson	1:48.4
2003.	Yankee Cruiser	Dean Magee	Tim Pinske	1:49.3
	Mantacular	Catello Manzi	Larry Rathbone	1:51.2
2005.	Rocknroll Hanover	Brian Sears	Brett Pelling	1:49.4
	Total Truth	Ron Pierce	Brenda Teague	1:49.1
	Tell All	Jody Jamieson	Blair Burgess	1:50.3
	Somebeachsomewhere	Paul MacDonell	Brent McGrath	1:49
2009.	Well Said	Ron Pierce	Steve Elliott	1:48.1
2010.	- F	Mark MacDonald	Casie Coleman	1:48.3
2011.	Up The Credit	Jody Jamieson	Carl Jamieson	1:49.3
2012.	Thinking Out Loud	Randall Waples	Robert McIntosh	1:47.4
2013.	Captaintreacherous	Tim Tetrick	Tony Alagna	1:48.3
2014.	JK Endofanera	Brian Sears	Ron Burke	1:48.4
2015.	Wakizashi Hanover	Tim Tetrick	Joann Looney-King	1:48
2016.	Betting Line	David Miller	Casie Coleman	1:47.4
2017.	Fear The Dragon	David Miller	Brian Brown	1:48.4
2018.	Lather Up	Montrell Teague	Clyde Francis	1:48.1
2019.	Captain Crunch	Scott Zeron	Nancy Takter	1:47.2
2020.	Tall Dark Stranger	Yannick Gingras	Nancy Takter	1:48.2
2021.	Desperate Man	Trevor Henry	Kathy Cecchin	1:49.3
2022.	Pebble Beach	Todd McCarthy	Noel Daley	1:50