

## PLATE FACTS – 2024

1956 was the first year the Plate was run at new Woodbine, where it continues to be run today. Please note, several categories list the Modern-Day record and are noted as "Since 1956".

# **RECORD PURSE**

\$1,000,000 (2000-Present) \$500,000 (1998-1999)

# RECORD TIME (RUN AT 1-1/4 MILES SINCE 1957)

2:01.48 (MOIRA, 2022)

2:01 4/5 (IZVESTIA, 1990)

2:01.93 (PARAMOUNT PRINCE, 2023)

2:01.98 (MIGHTY HEART, 2020)

2:01.99 (STRAIT OF DOVER, 2012)

2:02-flat (REGAL EMBRACE, 1978; VICTORIA PARK, 1960)

2:02 1/5 (NORTHERN DANCER, 1964; ARCHERS BAY, 1998)

2:02.26 (WONDER GADOT, 2018)

2:02.48 (WANDO, 2003)

#### WINNINGEST JOCKEYS

AVELINO GOMEZ - 4 (1957, 1960, 1966, 1969) SANDY HAWLEY - 4 (1970, 1971, 1975, 1978) ROBIN PLATTS - 4 (1972, 1974, 1977, 1984)

## **WINNINGEST TRAINERS**

HARRY GIDDINGS JR. - 8 (1911, 1913, 1914, 1920, 1931, 1932, 1934, 1942) ROGER ATTFIELD - 8 (1976, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995, 2008)

## **WINNINGEST OWNERS**

**SEAGRAM STABLES - 20** 

(1891, 1892, 1893, 1894, 1895, 1896, 1897, 1898, 1900, 1901, 1905, 1906, 1908, 1916, 1917, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1933, 1935)

WINDFIELDS FARM - 7

(1959, 1960, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1978, 1985)

KINGHAVEN FARMS - 5 (1979, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1992)

SAM-SON FARM - 5

(1988, 1991, 2000, 2001, 2009)

# LONGEST PRICED WINNERS (Since 1956)

T J's Lucky Moon - \$166.00 (2002) ROYAL CHOCOLATE - \$48.10 (1973) DRIVING HOME - \$43.90 (1980) BLUE LIGHT - \$39.50 (1961)

### SHORTEST PRICED WINNERS (Since 1956)

VICTORIA PARK - \$2.10 (1960) ALYDEED - \$2.20 (1992) NORTHERN DANCER - \$2.30 (1964) TITLED HERO - \$2.50 (1966)

# **LARGEST FIELD (Since 1956)**

20 (1959) 19 (1963) 18 (1980, 1982) 17 (1973, 1999, 2011, 2023)

#### **SMALLEST FIELD (Since 1956)**

8 (1960, 1964, 1977, 2007) 9 (1971, 1979, 1991, 2005) 10 (2001) 11 (1966, 1976, 1988, 1993, 1994, 2022)

#### LARGEST MARGIN OF VICTORY (Since 1956)

13 lengths (IZVESTIA, 1990) 11-1/2 lengths (LYFORD CAY, 1957; ALYDEED, 1992) 9-1/2 lengths (CALEDON BEAU, 1958)

# **SMALLEST MARGIN OF VICTORY (Since 1956)**

NOSE (BLUE LIGHT, 1961; FIDDLE DANCER BOY, 1981; WITH APPROVAL, 1989)



## PLATE FACTS – 2024

1956 was the first year the Plate was run at new Woodbine, where it continues to be run today. Please note, several categories list the Modern-Day record and are noted as "Since 1956".

#### **CANADIAN TRIPLE CROWN CHAMPIONS – SEVEN**

Canadian Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing (King's Plate, Prince Of Wales Stakes, Breeders' Stakes) series was established in 1959:

NEW PROVIDENCE (1959)
CANEBORA (1963)
WITH APPROVAL (1989)
IZVESTIA (1990)
DANCE SMARTLY (1991)
PETESKI (1993)
WANDO (2003)

#### FILLIES TO WIN THE PLATE

38 SINCE 1860: 10 SINCE 1956

#### Since 1956:

FLAMING PAGE (1962)
JAMMED LOVELY (1967)
LA LORGNETTE (1985)
DANCE SMARTLY (1991)
DANCETHRUTHEDAWN (2001)
INGLORIOUS (2011)
LEXIE LOU (2014)
HOLY HELENA (2017)
WONDER GADOT (2018)
MOIRA (2022)

## FEMALE TRAINER TO WIN PLATE - ONE

JOSIE CARROLL (EDENWOLD, 2006; INGLORIOUS, 2011)

## FEMALE JOCKEY TO WIN PLATE - ONE

EMMA-JAYNE WILSON (MIKE FOX, 2007)

#### PLATE WINNERS TO WIN SOVEREIGN AWARDS – 28

Won Plate and Sovereign in same year

L'ENJOLEUR – 1975 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) NORCLIFFE – 1976 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) STEADY GROWTH – 1979 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) BOMPAGO - 1983 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) KEY TO THE MOON – 1984 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) LA LORGNETTE – 1985 (3-Year-Old Filly of the Year) GOLDEN CHOICE – 1986 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) REGAL INTENTION – 1988 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) WITH APPROVAL – 1989 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) IZVESTIA – 1990 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) DANCE SMARTLY – 1991 (3-Year-Old Filly & Horse of the Year) PETESKI – 1993 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) VICTOR COOLEY – 1996 (3-Year-Old Colt/Gelding of the Year) ARCHERS BAY – 1998 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) WOODCARVER - 1999 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) DANCETHRUTHEDAWN – 2001 (3-Year-Old Filly of the Year) WANDO - 2003 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) NOT BOURBON – 2008 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) EYE OF THE LEOPARD – 2009 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) BIG RED MIKE - 2010 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) INGLORIOUS – 2011 (3-Year-Old Filly of the Year) STRAIT OF DOVER – 2012 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) LEXIE LOU – 2014 (3-Year-Old Filly, Female Turf & Horse of the Year) SHAMAN GHOST – 2015 (3-Year-Old Colt of the Year) HOLY HELENA – 2017 (3-Year-Old Filly of the Year) WONDER GADOT – 2018 (3-Year-Old Filly & Horse of the Year) MIGHTY HEART – 2020 (3-Year-Old Colt & Horse of the Year) MOIRA – 2022 (3-Year-Old Filly & Horse of the Year) PARAMOUNT PRINCE - 2023 (3-Year-Old Colt)



## PLATE FACTS - 2024

1956 was the first year the Plate was run at new Woodbine, where it continues to be run today. Please note, several categories list the Modern-Day record and are noted as "Since 1956".

# WIRE-TO-WIRE PLATE WINNERS – 13

Since 1956

**CANADIAN CHAMP (1956)** 

LYFORD CAY (1957)

WHISTLING SEA (1965)

REGAL EMBRACE (1978)

SON OF BRIARTIC (1982)

PETESKI (1993)

WANDO (2003)

BIG RED MIKE (2010)

STRAIT OF DOVER (2012)

MIDNIGHT ARIA (2013)

ONE BAD BOY (2019)

MIGHTY HEART (2020)

PARAMOUNT PRINCE (2023)

### LAST TO FIRST PLATE WINNERS – TWO

Since 1956

VICTORIA SONG (1972) MARKET CONTROL (1987)

# TRACK CONDITION FOR PLATE (Since 1956)

The track has been listed 'Fast' for every Plate except:

SLOPPY – 3 (1974, 1977, 1979)

MUDDY – 3 (1968, 1980, 1999)

SLOW – 3 (1956, 1973, 1986)

GOOD - 1 (1985)

# **TAPETA SURFACE FOR PLATE – EIGHT**

This year's King's Plate marks the ninth edition to be contested on the Tapeta track.