

Past Ricoh Woodbine Mile Winners

2019 winner: El Tormenta (Stormy Atlantic-Torreadora), jockey Eurico Rosa Da Silva, trainer Gail Cox, owner/breeder Sam-Son Farm; paid \$91.40 to win; beat 3-2 favourite Got Stormy by a half-length in 1:32.60

2018 winner: Oscar Performance (Kitten's Joy-Devine Actress), jockey Jose Ortiz, trainer Brian Lynch, owner Amerman Racing LLC, breeder Mrs. Jerry Amerman; paid \$7.70 to win; beat Mr Havercamp by 1-1/2 lengths in 1:33.12

2017 winner: World Approval (Northern Afleet-Win Approval), jockey John Velazquez, trainer Mark Casse, owner Live Oak Plantation, breeder Live Oak Stud; paid \$6.70 to win; beat Lancaster Bomber by 2-1/2 lengths in 1:33.05

2016 winner: Tepin (Bernstein-Life Happened), jockey Julien Leparoux, trainer Mark Casse, owner Robert E. Masterson, breeder Machmer Hall; paid \$2.90 to win; beat Tower of Texas by a half-length in 1:34.13

2015 winner: Mondialiste (Galileo-Occupandiste), jockey Feargal Lynch, trainer David O'Meara, owners Geoff & Sandra Turnbull, breeder Wertheimer & Frere; paid \$9.60 to win, beat Lea by a half-length in 1:36.66

2014 winner: Trade Storm (Trade Fair-Frisson), jockey Jamie Spencer, trainer David Simcock, owner Qatar Racing Limited, breeder G.T. Lucas; paid \$11.10 to win; beat Kaigun by a half-length in 1:36.87

2013 winner: Wise Dan (Wiseman's Ferry-Lisa Danielle), jockey John Velazquez, trainer Charles LoPresti, owner-breeder Morton Fink); paid \$2.50 to win; beat Za Approval by 3-1/2 lengths in track and stakes record time of 1:31.75, eclipsing Ventura's mark of 1:32.04 set in 2009

2012 winner: Wise Dan (Wiseman's Ferry-Lisa Danielle), jockey John Velazquez, trainer Charles LoPresti, owner-breeder Morton Fink; paid \$3.10 to win; beat Hunters Bay by 3-1/4 lengths in 1:34.07

2011 winner: Turallure (Wando-Personal Allure), jockey Julien Leparoux, trainer Charles LoPresti, ownerbreeder Four D Stable; paid \$14.90 to win; beat Courageous Cat by a neck in 1:34.92

2010 winner: Court Vision (Gulch-Weekend Storm), jockey Robby Albarado, trainer Richard Dutrow Jr., owner IEAH Stables & Resolute Group Stables, breeders W.S. Farish & Kilroy Thoroughbred Partnership); paid \$16.60 to win; beat The Usual Q.T. by 1-1/4 lengths in 1:34.62

2009 winner: Ventura (Chester House-Estala), jockey Garrett Gomez, trainer Robert Frankel, ownerbreeder Juddmonte Farms Inc.; paid \$6.20 to win; beat Ferneley by one length in 1:32.04

2008 winner: Rahy's Attorney (Crown Attorney-Rahy's Hope), jockey Slade Callaghan, trainer Ian Black, owner Ellie Boje Farm, M. Peters, D. Read & J. & J. MacLellan, breeder Ellie-Boje Farm; paid \$27.30 to win; beat Ventura by 1-1/4 lengths in 1:36.14

2007 winner: Shakespeare (Theatrical-Lady Shirl), jockey Garrett Gomez, trainer Kiaran McLaughlin, owners Dell Ridge Farm and William Schettine, breeder Dell Ridge Farm; paid \$5.90 to win; beat Kip Deville by one length in 1:33.58

2006 winner: Becrux (Glen Jordan-Rebecca Parisi), jockey Pat Valenzuela, trainer Neil Drysdale, owners Team Valor Stables LLC & Gary Barber, breeder Sc Siba Spa; paid \$18.70 to win; beat Rebel by a neck in 1:33.99

2005 winner: Leroidesanimaux (Candy Stripes-Dissemble), jockey John Velazquez, trainer Robert Frankel, owner TNT Stud, breeder Haras Bage Do Sul; paid \$3.30 to win; beat Mobil by 7-3/4 lengths in 1:35.08

2004 winner: Soaring Free (Smart Strike-Dancing With Wings), jockey Todd Kabel, trainer Mark Frostad, owner-breeder Sam-Son Farm; paid \$6.30 to win; beat Perfect Soul by three-quarters of a length in 1:32.72

2003 winner: Touch of the Blues (Cadeaux Genereux-Silabteni), jockey Kent Desormeaux, trainer Neil

Drysdale, owner Gainsborough Farm LLC, breeder Gainsborough Stud; paid \$12.90 to win; beat Soaring Free by a half-length in 1:33.39

2002 winner: Good Journey (Nureyev-Chimes of Freedom), jockey Pat Day, trainer Wally Dollase, owner Flaxman Holdings Ltd., Gary Margolis, Michael Jarvis & Partners, breeder Flaxman Holdings Ltd.; paid \$8.40 to win; beat Chopinina by one length in 1:33.27

2001 winner: Numerous Times (Numerous-Dramatical), jockey Patrick Husbands, trainer Sid Attard, owner The Committee Stable, breeder Patrick Ballentine Estate; paid \$15.40 to win; beat Affirmed Success by a nose in 1:32.79

2000 winner: Riviera (Kris-Manureva), jockey John Velazquez, trainer Robert Frankel, owner Edmund Gann, breeder Janus Bloodstock Inc.; paid \$23.10 to win; beat Arkadian Hero by a nose in 1:33.18

1999 winner: Quiet Resolve (Affirmed-Quiet Cleo), jockey Robert Landry, trainer Mark Frostad, ownerbreeder Sam-Son Farm; paid \$91.10 to win; crossed the wire second but placed first after Hawksley Hill was disqualified for interference in the stretch; time of the mile was 1:33.19

1998 winner: Labeeb (Lear Fan-Lady Blackfoot), jockey Kent Desormeaux, trainer Neil Drysdale, owner Gainsborough Farm LLC, breeder Brick Kiln Stud & Lariston Apartments Ltd.; paid \$6.60 to win; beat Jim and Tonic by a head in 1:33.00

1997 winner: Geri (Theatrical-Garimpiero), jockey Chris Antley, trainer Bill Mott, owner-breeder Allen Paulson; paid \$18.90 to win; beat Helmsman by 1-1/2 lengths in 1:36.20