Skip to main content

Bee A Magician makes 2014 Mohawk debut on Friday

June 5, 2014

CAMPBELLVILLE, June 5 – On the eve of the Pepsi North America Cup eliminations, the reigning Canadian and American Horse of the Year, Bee A Magician, will return to Mohawk.
Bee A Magician will headline Race 3 Friday night, the second elimination for the Armbro Flight Stakes, from the rail for driver Brian Sears and trainer Richard “Nifty” Norman.
Bee A Magician went a perfect 17 for 17 last year in her three-year-old season with nine of those victories coming over the Mohawk oval.
She took home plenty of hardware from Mohawk with victories in stakes events such as the Casual Breeze, Elegantimage, Simcoe and the Ontario Sires Stakes Super Final for owners Mel Hartman, Herb Liverman and David McDuffee.
Now back as a four-year-old, Bee A Magician will make her second start of the season off a second place finish in a leg of the Miss Versatility back at Woodbine on May 19.
The mare who defeated Bee A Magician that night was Perfect Alliance in a Track, Canadian and World Record clocking of 1:51.2.
She will star in Race 2, the second elimination, for driver Yannick Gingras.
Perfect Alliance is undefeated this season in 10 starts for trainer Julie Miller and the ownership group of Little E Llc, Jason Settlemoir, David Stolz and Arthur Geiger.
Last year’s Armbro Flight Stakes was captured by the 2013 Older Trotting Mare champion Maven.
Maven recently competed in the Elitlopp in Sweden and was not entered into the Armbro Flight by trainer Jonas Czernyson.
However, Czernyson will still be well represented with two starters in the eliminations. Ma Chere Hall will leave from post four in the first elimination for driver Corey Callahan, with the other Czernyson starter, Dorsay, starting from post six in the second elimination for driver Sylvain Filion.
Elimination winners will be able to select their post position for the final. The top five finishers from each elimination will advance to the $266,000 final on Pepsi North America Cup night, Saturday, June 14.
The lineups for the eliminations for Friday night follow:
Post Position/Horse/Driver
Race 2: Elimination One, Purse $35,000
1. Upfrontluckycarol – Steve Condren
2. Intense America – Sylvain Filion
3. Rockin With Dewey – Mario Baillargeon
4. Ma Chere Hall – Corey Callahan
5. Bax Of Life – Chris Christoforou
6. Lady Laker – Trevor Ritchie
7. Perfect Alliance – Yannick Gingras
Race 3: Elimination Two, Purse $35,000
1. Bee A Magician – Brian Sears
2. Classic Martine – Tim Tetrick
3. Angies Lucky Star – James MacDonald
4. Charmed Life – Jody Jamieson
5. Daylon Miracle – Steve Condren
6. Dorsay – Sylvain Filion

Share This: