Skip to main content

Facts & Figures

​​​Two trainers have won The Plate eight (8) times


Harry Giddings Jr.
Ten to Ace (1942)
Horometer (1934)
Queensway (1932)
Froth Blower (1931)
St. Paul (1920)
Beehive (1914)
Hearts of Oak (1913)
St. Bass (1911)
Roger Attfield
Not Bourbon (2008)
Regal Discovery (1995)
Peteski (1993)
Alydeed (1992)
Izvestia (1990)
With Approval (1989)
Market Control (1987)
Norcliffe (1976)


Seven three-year-olds have captured the prestigious three race series
New Providence (1959)
Canebora (1963)
With Approval (1989)
Izvestia (1990)
Dance Smartly (1991)
Peteski (1993)
Wando (2003)


Five three-years-olds were denied the Triple Crown in the Breeders’
Almoner, finished second to Mary of Scotland (1970)
L’Enjoleur, finished third to Momigi (1975)
Norcliffe, finished fifth to Tiny Tinker (1976)
Golden Choice, finished third to Carotene (1986)
Scatter The Gold, finished third to Lodge Hill (2000)


Three riders have won The Plate four (4) times:
Avelino Gomez
Jumpin Joseph (1969)
Titled Hero (1966)
Victoria Park (1960)
Lyford Cay (1957)
Sandy Hawley
Regal Embrace (1978)
L’Enjoleur (1975)
Kennedy Road (1971)
Almoner (1970)
Robin Platts
Key To The Moon (1984)
Sound Reason (1977)
Amber Herod (1974)
Victoria Song (1972)


Longest-priced winners in Queen’s Plate history
TJ’s LUCKY MOON (2002) $166.00
Royal Chocolate (1973) $48.10
Driving Home (1980) $43.90
Blue Light (1961) $39.50
Midnight Aria (2013) $35.20
Edenwold (2006) $34.40



Fact #1 Canada’s Triple Crown of Thoroughbred racing – The Queen’s Plate, The Prince of Wales and The Breeders’ Stakes – was inaugurated in 1959.

Fact #2 The $1 million Queen’s Plate, North America’s oldest continuously run stakes race, is the first race in the Triple Crown series.

Fact #3 The $500,000 Prince of Wales is the second leg in the series and is annually run at Fort Erie Racetrack in Fort Erie, Ontario. Since the inception of the Triple Crown, the race has undergone two surface changes and a pair of distance modifications. From 1959 through 1975, it had been contested over 1 3/8 miles of “dirt.” It was shifted to the grass and run at 1 1/2 miles from 1976 to 1987. The Prince of Wales returned to the main track and moved back to its current 1 3/16-mile distance for the 1988 renewal.

Fact #4 The $500,000 Breeders’ Stakes is run over Woodbine’s turf course at a 1 1/2-mile distance. The annual turf war brings the Canadian Triple Crown to an exciting conclusion. The 125th edition of the Breeders’ will be contested this year on Sunday, August 16, 2015. In 1994, the third gem in Canada’s Triple Crown of Racing was moved from Woodbine to Fort Erie. It was to have been the inaugural event on Woodbine’s all new 1 1/2-mile E.P. Taylor turf course but unforseen delays had backed up construction of the “European-style” grass course. In 1995, the Breeders’ was once again contested at Woodbine.

Fact #5 For capturing a rare Triple Crown, winning owners receive a beautiful three-sided gold trophy.​