Skip to main content

THROWBACK: Every Pepsi North America Cup Replay (1984-2019)

May 25, 2020

Every Pepsi North America Cup Replay

The Pepsi North America Cup has been Canadian harness racing’s most prestigious event since it first started in 1984. The race for three-year-old pacers was held at Greenwood Raceway from 1984-1993 and Woodbine Racetrack from 1994-2006 before moving to its current home at Woodbine Mohawk Park in 2007.

The Pepsi North America Cup has annually been a million-dollar event since 1987. The highest purse in event history was $1.6 million in 2004, a race won by Mantacular.

John Campbell is widely known as harness racing’s greatest driver and the Hall of Famer holds the record for most North America Cup wins with 6 (1991, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999) . Campbell dominance in the 1990’s was highlight by 4 consecutive Cup victories from 1994-1997.

Jeffrey Snyder is the all-time leading owner with 4 Cup wins (1994, 2002, 2005, 2009), while Bill Robinson, who trained two of Snyder’s winners, is the leading trainer with 4 Cup triumphs (1991, 1993, 1994, 2002).

The Pepsi North America Cup record-winning time is 1:47.2, set in 2019 by Captain Crunch. Presidential Ball held the record at Greenwood Raceway (1:51), while Red River Hanover set the Woodbine Racetrack record (1:48.4).

The biggest upset in Pepsi North America Cup history was Goalie Jeff in 1989, who paid $93.60 for a $2 Win Ticket. Jate Lobell (1987) and Presidential Ball (1993) hold the record for lowest $2 Win payoff at $2.70. The legendary Somebeachsomewhere (2008) paid $2.80.

Bettors Delight (2001) holds the record for largest margin of victory at 4 1/2 lenghts. There have been three Cup races decided by a nose, Quite A Sensation (1986), Jate Lobell (1987) and Arizona Jack (1996).

The 2020 Pepsi North America Cup will mark the 37 edition of Canada’s most prestigious race. All 36 previous editions of the Cup are available below to relive history.

1984 - Legal Notice

Purse: $357,900
Winner: Legal Notice (1:55.3)
Driver: Dr. John Hayes
Trainer: Dr. John Hayes
Owner: J. Hayes Stable Ltd, Quarter Century Club, John Burns

1985 - Staff Director

Purse: $387,500
Winner: Staff Director (1:55.2)
Driver: Dave Wall
Trainer: Dave Wall
Owner: Galleon Stable, Green-White-Red Stable

1986 - Quite A Sensation

Purse: $588,000
Horse: Quite A Sensation
Driver: Trevor Ritchie
Trainer: R. Claire Porter
Owner: R. Claire Porter

1987 - Jate Lobell

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Jate Lobell (1:52.3)
Driver: Mark O’Mara
Trainer: Mark O’Mara
Owner: Joe McCluskey & Kentuckiana Farms

1988 - Runnymede Lobell

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Runnymede Lobell (1:54.4)
Driver: Yves Filion
Trainer: Yves Filion
Owner: Norman Mondoux & Bayama Farms

1989 - Goalie Jeff

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Goalie Jeff (1:53.2)
Driver: Steve Condren
Trainer: Tom Artandi
Owner: Centre Ice Stable

1990 - Apaches Fame

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Apaches Fame (1:53.4)
Driver: William ‘Bud’ Fritz
Trainer: William ‘Bud’ Fritz
Owner: Dovers Venture II

1991 - Precious Bunny

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Precious Bunny (1:53)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Bill Robinson
Owner: R. Peter Heffering

1992 - Safely Kept

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Safely Kept (1:53.1)
Driver: Mike Lachance
Trainer: Joe Holloway
Owner: Robert Suslow

1993 - Presidential Ball

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Presidential Ball (1:51)
Driver: Ron Waples
Trainer: Bill Robinson
Owner: Antonio Chiaravalle

1994 - Cams Card Shark

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Cams Card Shark (1:51.4)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Bill Robinson
Owner: Jeffrey Snyder

1995 - Davids Pass

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Davids Pass (1:52.1)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Brett Pelling
Owner: RJS Stable

1996 - Arizona Jack

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Arizona Jack (1:55.1)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Gary Machiz
Owner: Leon & Gary Machiz, Barry Rubenstein Farms

1997 - Gothic Dream

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Gothic Dream (1:50.4)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Jack Darling
Owner: Jack Darling Stables Ltd. & Dan Smith

1998 - Straight Path

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Straight Path (1:51.2)
Driver: Mike Lachance
Trainer: Shawn Robinson
Owner: Anthony Delmonte & Antoinette Liberto

1999 - The Panderosa

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: The Panderosa (1:49.4)
Driver: John Campbell
Trainer: Brett Pelling
Owner: Peter Pan Stables Inc.

2000 - Gallo Blue Chip

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Gallo Blue Chip (1:50.1)
Driver: Daniel Dube
Trainer: Mark Ford
Owner: Martin Scharf

2001 - Bettors Delight

Purse: $1,148,500
Winner: Bettors Delight (1:50)
Driver: Mike Lachance
Trainer: Scott McEneny
Owner: John Grant

2002 - Red River Hanover

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Red River Hanover (1:48.4)
Driver: Luc Ouellette
Trainer: Bill Robinson
Owner: Jeffrey Snyder & Lothlorien Equestrian Centre

2003 - Yankee Cruiser

Purse: $1,542,500
Winner: Yankee Cruiser (1:49.3)
Driver: Dean Magee
Trainer: Tim Pinske
Owner: Brian Pinske Stable, Pinske Stables & Nick Barbieri

2004 - Mantacular

Purse: $1,629,500
Winner: Mantacular (1:51.2)
Driver: Cat Manzi
Trainer: Larry Rathbone
Owner: M and L of Delaware Inc.

2005 - Rocknroll Hanover

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Rocknroll Hanover (1:49.4)
Driver: Brian Sears
Trainer: Brett Pelling
Owner: Jeffrey Snyder & Lothlorien Equestrian Centre

2006 - Total Truth

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Total Truth (1:49.1)
Driver: Ron Pierce
Trainer: Brenda Teague
Owner: Only Money Inc. & Teague Inc.

2007 - Tell All

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Tell All (1:50.3)
Driver: Jody Jamieson
Trainer: Blair Burgess
Owner: My Desire Stable

2008 - Somebeachsomewhere

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Somebeachsomewhere (1:49)
Driver: Paul MacDonell
Trainer: Brent MacGrath
Owner: Schooner Stable

2009 - Well Said

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Well Said (1:48.1)
Driver: Ron Pierce
Trainer: Steve Elliot
Owner: Jeffrey Snyder & Lothlorien

2010 - Sportswriter

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Sportswriter (1:48.3)
Driver: Mark MacDonald
Trainer: Casie Coleman
Owner: Steve Calhoun, West Wins Stables & Southwind Farms

2011 - Up The Credit

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Up The Credit (1:49.3)
Driver: Jody Jamieson
Trainer: Carl Jamieson
Owner: Carl Jamieson, Thomas Kyron, Brian Paquet & Joanne Morrison

2012 - Thinking Out Loud

Purse: $1,500,000
Winner: Thinking Out Loud (1:47.4)
Driver: Randy Waples
Trainer: Bob McIntosh
Owner: Robert McIntosh Stables, CSX Stables & Al McIntosh Holdings

2013 - Captaintreacherous

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Captaintreacherous (1:48.3)
Driver: Tim Tetrick
Trainer: Tony Alagna
Owner: Captaintreacherous Racing

2014 - JK Endofanera

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: JK Endofanera (1:48.4)
Driver: Brian Sears
Trainer: Ron Burke
Owner: 3 Brothers Stable

2015 - Wakizashi Hanover

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Wakizashi Hanover (1:49.2)
Driver: Tim Tetrick
Trainer: Joann Looney-King
Owner: Tri County Stable

2016 - Betting Line

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Betting Line (1:47.4)
Driver: David Miller
Trainer: Casie Coleman
Owner: West Wins Stable, Christine Calhoun & Mac Nichol

2017 - Fear The Dragon

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Fear The Dragon (1:48.4)
Driver: David Miller
Trainer: Brian Brown
Owner: Emerald Highlands Farm

2018 - Lather Up

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Lather Up (1:48.1)
Driver: Montrell Teague
Trainer: Clyde Francis
Owner: Gary & Barbara Iles

2019 - Captain Crunch

Purse: $1,000,000
Winner: Captain Crunch (1:47.2)
Driver: Scott Zeron
Trainer: Nancy Johansson
Owner: 3 Brothers Stable, Christina Takter, Rojan Stables & Caviart Farms

Share This: