Skip to main content

The Jockey Club of Canada announces 2017 Sovereign Award finalists

February 1, 2018

TORONTO, February 1, 2018 – The Jockey Club of Canada will host the 43rd Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony to honour Canada’s Champions of 2017 on Thursday, April 19, 2018.

Tickets to the 43rd Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony are $250 each, with tables of 10 discounted to $2,000. Earlybird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2018.

To be eligible to receive a Sovereign Award in each divisional category, a horse must have raced in Canada at least three times for all horses three years old and up and two times for all two- year-olds.

For the Owner, Trainer, Breeder, Jockey and Apprentice Jockey categories, a minimum of 10 starts in Canada must be made. The Outstanding Broodmare Award is a lifetime achievement award. The mare must have a Canadian-bred stakes horse (by definition, the horse must have come first, second or third in a stakes race) in the current year and must have produced a different Canadian-bred stakes horse in a previous year.

Tickets are available for purchase online at Program ad space and tickets can also be purchased by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or by email

The Sovereign Awards has also transitioned to three finalists, excluding categories that included ties, for 2017.

The 2017 Sovereign Award finalists are:

Champion Two-Year-Old Filly:
Dixie Moon
Dream It Is
Wonder Gadot

Champion Two-Year-Old Male:
Admiralty Pier
Be Vewy Vewy Quiet

Champion Three-Year-Old Female:
Daz Lin Dawn
Holy Helena

Champion Three-Year-Old Male:
Channel Maker
Mr Havercamp
Tiz a Slam

Champion Older Female:
Ami’s Mesa
Moonlit Promise
Gamble’s Ghost

Champion Older Male:
Gigantic Breeze
Pink Lloyd

Champion Female Turf Horse:
Starship Jubilee

Champion Male Turf Horse:
Channel Maker
Johnny Bear
Tower of Texas

Champion Female Sprinter:
Ami’s Mesa
Jennifer Lynnette
Moonlit Promise

Champion Male Sprinter:
Ikerrin Road
Pink Lloyd

Outstanding Broodmare:
Keen Victory
Loving Vindication
Miss Crissy
Victorious Ami

Outstanding Breeder:
Adena Springs
Anderson Farms Ont. Inc.
Tall Oaks Farm

Outstanding Owner:
Chiefswood Stable
Ivan Dalos
Stronach Stables

Outstanding Trainer:
Josie Carroll
Mark Casse
Catherine Day Phillips
Norman McKnight

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:
Ridge Balgobin
Brandon A. Duchaine
Rey Williams

Outstanding Jockey:
Luis Contreras
Eurico Rosa Da Silva
Rico W. Walcott

The finalists for 2017 Horse of the Year will be announced on the night of awards ceremony.

The judging for the 2017 Media Sovereign Award categories will be performed by the Journalism Professors at Humber, School of Media Studies & Information Technology, in Toronto. The three finalists in each of the three media categories will be announced on or before March 1, 2018.

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as the international representative of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry. The mission of The Jockey Club of Canada is to promote and maintain a high standard for Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada at a level which is recognized internationally for the benefit of all those interested in the sport including the general public by operations and services such as, but not limited to: evaluating all Graded, Listed and Black-type races in Canada annually; conducting the annual Sovereign Awards for outstanding achievement in Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada; maintaining a field office in Canada for the Jockey Club of the United States and the Jockey Club Registry Service; and by representing Canada as a Member of the IFHA.

(With files from The Jockey Club of Canada)

Share This: