Skip to main content

2023 Sovereign Awards Finalists Announced

February 6, 2024

The following is an edited media release from the Jockey Club of Canada on February 5, 2024:

The Jockey Club of Canada is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2023 Sovereign Awards honouring Canada’s champions and recognizing their outstanding achievements in Canadian Thoroughbred Racing and Breeding.

The winner of each category, along with Canada’s Horse of the Year for 2023, will be announced during our 49th Annual Sovereign Award ceremony which will be held on the evening of Thursday, April 18, 2024 at Paramount Eventspace in Woodbridge, Ontario.

2023 Sovereign Awards Finalists

The finalists in each of the following categories are listed in alphabetical order.

Champion Two-Year-Old Female

Living Magic



Champion Two-Year-Old Male


My Boy Prince

Two Ghosts

Champion Three-Year-Old Female

Elysian Field

Fashionably Fab

Solo Album

Champion Three-Year-Old Male

Paramount Prince

Patches O’Houlihan

Touch’n Ride

Champion Older Main Track Female

Il Malocchio

Infinite Patience

Millie Girl

Champion Older Main Track Male



Wolfie’s Dynaghost

Champion Female Turf Horse

Fev Rover (Ire)


Our Flash Drive

Champion Male Turf Horse

Lucky Score

My Boy Prince


Champion Female Sprinter

Fashionably Fab


Our Flash Drive

Champion Male Sprinter

Dream Shake

Lucky Score

Patches O’Houlihan

Outstanding Broodmare

Game (FR)

Mendocino Beano

Sunday Affair

Outstanding Breeder

Adena Springs

Anderson Farms Ont. Inc.

Chiefswood Stables Limited

Sam-Son Farm

Sean Fitzhenry

Outstanding Owner

Barber, Gary

Chiefswood Stables Limited

Schickedanz, Bruno

Outstanding Trainer

Attard, Kevin

Casse, Mark E.

Drexler, Martin

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Aebly, Fraser

Vandermeersch, Amanda

Vives, Sofia

Outstanding Jockey

Civaci, Sahin

Hernandez, Rafael Manuel

Kimura, Kazushi

Horse of the Year

The Horse of the Year finalists will be announced during the 49th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremony.

The 2023 Media Sovereign Awards finalists, the winner of the Awards for Outstanding Groom and Outstanding Off-track Worker, and this year’s E. P. Taylor Award and Special Sovereign Award winners will be announced in the coming days.

The winner in each of the three Media Sovereign Awards categories will be announced, along with the other Sovereign Awards winners during the 49th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremony on the evening of Thursday, April 18, 2024.

Share This: