Skip to main content

Woodbine among Media Finalists for 2017 Sovereign Awards

March 2, 2018

TORONTO, March 2, 2018 – The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the Media Sovereign Award
categories for 2017.

The judging for the 2017 Media Sovereign Award categories was performed by Professors of the Journalism Program at the School of Media Studies & Information Technology, Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Listed in alphabetical order, the finalists are:

Writing Category
• Tom Ferry – “Where Champions Dance”
• Perry Lefko – “Former Breeders’ Stakes champ finding the stable life at last”
• Emily Shields – “How Secretariat gave the Canadians something to remember forever”

Digital Audio/Visual and Broadcast Category
• Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame/ Standardbred Canada / Woodbine Broadcast Department – The Evolution of Horse Racing in Canada

• Horse Racing Alberta – Super Trooper

• Talkin’ Horse Racing – Episode 9

Photograph Category
• Jeffrey Bowen – Morning Silhouette
• Dave Landry – Dirt Storm
• Alex Urosivic – Erika Eurico

The Jockey Club of Canada will announce the winners of each Sovereign Award at the 43rd Annual Awards Ceremony to honour Canada’s Champions of 2017 on Thursday, April 19, 2018. Tickets to the 43rd Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony are $250 each, with tables of 10 discounted to $2,000. Early-Bird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2018.

You can purchase tickets online or by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada by email or by phone 416-675-7756.

(The Jockey Club of Canada)

Share This: