Skip to main content

Woodbine announces additions of prominent breeder and owner to Board Committees

May 4, 2023

TORONTO, May 4, 2023 – Woodbine Entertainment today announced the addition of long-time prominent Thoroughbred breeder Yvonne Schwabe and perennial leading Standardbred owner and breeder Brad Grant to committees for its Board of Directors.

Woodbine’s Board of Directors consists of several committees focused on specific areas of business. Schwabe will serve on the Thoroughbred Racing Committee, while Grant joins the Standardbred Racing Committee.

Schwabe has been a breeder for over 25 years and is the owner of Persley Den Farms in Acton, Ontario. Schwabe notably bred 2013 Queen’s Plate winner Midnight Aria. In addition to her successful breeding operation, Schwabe is a former director and current Funding Chair for the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance. She has also served on several other industry boards and committees, including as a former Ontario and National Director of the CTHS and as a Steward of the Jockey Club of Canada.

Grant has been the leading Woodbine Standardbred owner for six of the last seven seasons and currently sits atop the standings for 2023. He was also named 2022 Owner of the Year by the United States Harness Writers Association (USHWA) and has owned several prominent horses in recent years, including Bulldog Hanover and Atlanta.

Grant has also been recognized by the industry for his philanthropy, receiving the 2018 USHWA Humanitarian Award.

“The addition of Yvonne and Brad to our racing committees is a significant boost for Woodbine,” said Hugh Mitchell, Chair, Board of Directors. “Both of these individuals are highly regarded within the industry and have enjoyed tremendous success. The industry knowledge and experience they have will be leaned upon by our Board.”

Standardbred Racing Committee
Hugh Mitchell (Chair), Nick Eaves, Brad Grant, Ed Hannah, Marvin Katz, Jim Lawson

Thoroughbred Racing Committee ​ ​
Jim Lawson (Chair), Bob Aziz, Michael Lay, Hugh Mitchell, Jaime Roth, Yvonne Schwabe

The Thoroughbred and Standardbred Committees meet regularly throughout the year to provide guidance and oversight to their respective racing management teams.

Share This: