Skip to main content

Fipke and Warner to be honoured at Sovereign Awards

January 25, 2020

TORONTO, January 25, 2020 – The Jockey Club of Canada has announced that Charles E. Fipke will be presented with the E. P. Taylor Award of Merit and Harvey Warner will be presented with the Special Sovereign Award in recognition of their outstanding commitment to the Thoroughbred industry in Canada.

Selected by the Jockey Club of Canada’s Stewards, the E.P. Taylor Award of Merit honours those who have accomplished outstanding individual achievements and have made a significant contribution to the Thoroughbred industry in Canada. Charles E. Fipke has been involved in the Canadian Thoroughbred industry for close to 40 years. Among his accomplishments, he has bred and owned three Sovereign Award winners including Not Bourbon, 2008 Champion Three-Year-Old Male and winner of the 2008 Queen’s Plate, Impossible Time, 2010 Champion Older Female, and Perfect Soul, 2003 Champion Male Turf Horse who went on to become a successful sire. Mr. Fipke bred and owned a number of other successful racehorses including Perfect Shirl, the winner of the Grade 1 Breeder’s Cup Filly and Mare Turf in 2011.

Selected by the Jockey Club of Canada’s Stewards, the Special Sovereign Award recognizes significant contributions to the Canadian Thoroughbred industry. Harvey Warner has been actively involved in the Thoroughbred industry in Canada since 1971. Throughout this time, he has served as the President of the Winnipeg Horseman’s Club, spent time as a member of the Manitoba Horse Council Board and sat on the Board of the HBPA of Manitoba. In 1994, Mr. Warner was a driving force behind the formation of the Manitoba Jockey Club, which assumed ownership and operations of Assiniboia Downs. Currently, Mr. Warner is the President of the Manitoba Jockey Club and a Steward for The Jockey Club of Canada.

The Jockey Club of Canada is proud to present the E.P. Taylor Award of Merit and the Special Sovereign Award to these most deserving individuals. The 45th Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony, honouring Canada’s champions, will take place at Universal Eventspace in Vaughan, Ont., on Thursday, April 16, 2020.

Tickets to the 45th Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony are $250 each, with tables of 10 discounted to $2,000. Early-Bird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2020. Tickets can be purchased online or by contacting the Jockey Club of Canada office at 416-675-7756 or

(With files from The Jockey Club of Canada)

Share This: